January 29, 2010

McGovern Lectures

John P. McGovern Award Lectureship
Through the generosity of the John P. McGovern Foundation to the American Osler Society, a John P. McGovern Award Lectureship was established in 1986. The lectureship makes possible an annual presentation of a paper dedicated to the general areas of Sir William Osler’s interests in the interface between the humanities and the sciences – in particular, medicine, literature, philosophy, and history. The lectureship is awarded to a leader of wide reputation who is selected by a special committee of the Society and is especially significant in that it also stands as a commemoration of Doctor McGovern’s own long-standing interest in and contributions of Osleriana.

Click on individual’s name to get full text of the lecture.

2014 Sir Donald Irvine
2013 Bert Hansen
2012 C. David Naylor
2011 Rosemary A. Stevens 
2010 Nuala P. Kenny
2009 Patrick A. McKee
2008 Charles E. Rosenberg
2007 Abraham Verghese
2006 Joseph J. Fins
2005 Karen Hein

2004 W. F. Bynum
2003 Sir Richard Doll
2002 James H. Cassedy
2001 Kenneth M. Ludmerer
2000 Gert H. Brieger
1999 John D. Stobo
1998 Paul Potter
1997 Roger J. Bulger
1996 David J. Rothman
1995 Sherwin B. Nuland
1994 David Hamilton
1993 Anne Hudson
1992 William C. Beck
1991 Daniel M. Fox
1990 E. A. Vastyan
1989 Lord Walton
1988 Joanne Trautmann
1987 Edward J. Huth
1986 Albert R. Jonsen
1985 No McGovern lecture this year
1984 No McGovern lecture this year
1983 James A. Knight